Butterflies
2005-02-18 - 9:33 a.m.

The Shelton women are social butterflies.

Thursday Chris left for the school's Freshman trip to Disney World. Won't be back til Monday night. Kate left this morning for Charleston for Beta Club convention...she was not going to go because of other commitments this weekend but her school needs her to compete in the visual arts competition. So, Dad is going to drive to Charleston tonight to get her so that a) she does not miss the Birthday party across the street tonight ("He" will be there) and b) so that she can be back in time for her hair appointment tomorrow for the Miltary Ball tomorrow night. I am heading for the beach this afternoon for our annual girls weekend out. Should be fun if I can shake the Momma guilt. At least Christie's formal is not til NEXT weekend!

My college girlfriends used to go to the Mountains for a weekend every year. As I have mentioned before...they minded less my having to arrange care for our daughters than they minded having to do it for themselves when they had kids. It got "too hard" and we just stopped doing it.

Today as I was saying goodbye to my second travelling daughter I got the "pang" of separation again. In my head I know that being anxious about them is slightly irrational...they could get in a wreck on the way home from school just as easily. But I also know they are growing up and will one day be going about their own lives in their own homes. I wonder how you don't worry then?

I will be happy just to have us all home on Monday.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland