Valentine's Gifts
2005-02-15 - 9:01 a.m.

This was our 20th Valentine's together...we have moved through the stages of "what to do, big or small" to the ease of quiet evenings and simpler gestures.

This year's card said "From your man of few words..." Those who know him know how perfect that was and are probably smiling the same gentle smile that I had when I opened the card. There was a beautiful blush rose and white chocolate raspberry cheesecake to share. We had planned to go out for a movie, but as he put it when he picked me up from work, "I have been upstaged." Apparently, KT's prom date from last year had asked her to dinner. So...this was an entirely different season of Valentine's for her Dad and I.

So home we went to arrive just in time for the flurry of last minute date prep and dinner for three by takeout. I love being a mom, especially to two such beautiful young women. They are poised and confident. I don't have to worry about poor choices in clothing or behavior. It seems all those anxious parenting moments pay off in the end. You try so hard to balance discipline with humour, interest with privacy. In the end, you wonder if you are doing a good job, if all the many moments of investment will pay off in a relationship of mutual love and respect as they hit the teen age and adult years. So far, so good.

So today, I am especially thankful for the mom's and girlfriends who have shown me how to balance between loosening up and maintaining standards. I am thankful for a husband with such love and humour that every day has a smile. I am thankful for two daughters who are coming to know their own significance and talents and are willing to share with their stuffy old mom and each other.

These are the Valentine gifts worthy of your heart.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland