Ymir far better than worse
2005-02-14 - 11:33 a.m.

Ymir was full...

Fortunately not the crazy full of the past but instead the steadiness of things to do, people to see and (joy of joys)bright spots of humor and sweetness.

So, the traditional Best/Worst:

Best:

Getting out of town early and not getting a ticket even though at times I realized that I was travelling at 85-90 (and still WITH the flow of traffic!)

Making the trip in just under 3 hours (see speed above).

The hotel suite....plenty of space and a jacuzzi.

Nia and Adorable time on Friday evening.

"Magic" pavilion...with enough help it is instant up and instant down!

Peer time with Muirgheal...it was nice to be able to demonstrate to her so many different peer-student relationships and to introduce her to a good number of those I respect and admire. Could not have been a better event for all that as we were both free of family obligations for much of the day.

The newcomer quest...I love them especially when one of the participants will accept my company on the quest. I enjoy helping them learn who is what and easing the nerves of walking up to strangers. Truly a bright spot.

Hosting our Baronage. With my current responsibilities, I do not get to do as much locally as I once did. I am always so happy to have their company as we travel. They are fine people and really represent our Barony with grace, humor and skill.

Witnessing Byram's Challenge for Melisent. One of my all time "transportation" moments. I was so happy for her and proud of him but the effort taken by all to make the moments meaningful for them was heart-warming. The Company of the Pheonix and Baron Hamish stand out for me. Wonderful.

Silly court tricks...I bet Colin won't lose his chair.

The squiring...Muirgheal and I came to support BdeB and Melisent. The ceremony was beautiful. The room well appointed and the participants well prepared. What a journey Malcolm and William have begun! And now Melisent and B have set their feet to another path. Melisent was the picture of dignity and courtesy. It calls me to be more.

The evening conversation...we spend so much time on event prep and tasks that often we do not share the meaning of what is truly important in this life.

The teasing comraderie of pack-out with the Hotel. Easy like family.

Worst:

Late night...early morning.

Melisent being so sick that I worried for her in the weather.

Long courts in the shade in the cold weather. Makes my old bones ache.

Slow service at dinner. Hate to think of being late.

Best of the Best? Being home by 3pm from NC! Plenty of time for a nap AND family time.

Tonight? Valentines with my sweety...can't believe we are going on 20 years.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland