Christmas and Clean Sweeping
2004-12-30 - 5:06 p.m.

Its been a week and what have I been doing?

The week before Christmas found me finishing up the Critical Care Nursing Orientation series I had been teaching and of course finishing up shopping and wrapping.

We had not gotten a tree yet and so on the way out I looked at the faces of the three other Sheltons and frankly NONE of us looked enthused! So I asked the girls and they were quite pleased not to do the whole tree thing. Les was glad not to have to rearrange all but one piece of the den furniture and I was glad to spend the evening at home with the fam.

So we drank hot chocolate and watched...White Christmas of course!

The next day when we got home the gifts were piled on the big square coffee table and my two foot aluminum tree was perched merrily on top decorated with small ornaments the girls had made. The stockings were hung and the mantle township all lit with candles.

Ahhh, wonderful.

So we opened gifts Christmas eve and everyone was happy with the things Santa found for them. We relaxed together and laughed that Mom and Dad bought the old CDs instead of the new ones out by several artists (poor kids to have such out of touch parents!)

Christmas we cooked dinner at Gpa's as Les's brother and his family were up. She made a terrific bread pudding for dessert and we all waddled home.

The 26th found us starting our New Year's resolution early (Operation Clean Sweep) in Kate's room. (We plan to empty every closet-every drawer and decide to keep, trash or donate...one room per month and then purchase the right things to get organized better in the New Year.) I guess after nineteen years together, we need to decide which gifts of various things and which SCA things we should just part with.

So, out we went after the first part to get an art supply rolling caddy, several pants, skirt and blouse hangers and many padded hangers.

As we rehung clothes and about the fifth time I said, "this should not be on a wire hanger" I looked at Kate and said, "Wow, do I sound like Mommy Dearest?" Kate smiled and mouthed the famous, "NO MORE WIRE HANGERS!" line, chopping the air with a wire hanger.

Gee, at least I did not beat her...(or follow through with my impulse to ask her to use white padded hangers for blouses and red ones for jackets). Even I have limits to my obsessions.

Anyway, last night we had a wonderful visit with the Adorables (we stayed too long but it is so grand to be laughing with another couple that totally gets the same sense of humor). Mr. Adorable is making the gheta soles for the girls for 12th night. Gotta love him.

Today I woke with the worst sinus headache in a long time complete with full on dizziness and vertigo so not much got accomplished.

Tonight is the putting together of KTs new bed.

And Rhiannon, I have not started my 12th night dress either but I will be making the girls Japanese underlayers this weekend to go with their new kimonos.

Happy New Year everyone.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland