Thankful Reminder
2004-10-06 - 10:32 a.m.

Today is a hard day...I slept horribly. Last night I got up from the computer and my something popped audibly in my lower back. Sometimes that is a good thing and it means my short leg is actually going to be the right length for a few days. But last night it was different, and wierd, and painful.

In addition, last night was the first crisp night of fall. I love that weather; soon it will be complete with the smell of woodsmoke and falling leaves. But last night it was just damp and chilly so I spent much of the night trying to ward off chills and pain.

So this am as we drove in I said a number of times to Les, "I need to just hole up in my office...I am not fit for company." (Code speak for "Good Lord, I feel bitchy today.") To which he responds, "Well, it might be good to just work on task work today." (Code speak for, "Yep, you may find people just a bit too challenging today.") Gotta love the language of a nineteen year marriage.

Instead I had a nine am appt for a pacemaker competency retest. Those can be challenging if the person doesn't care enough to want to learn. Instead, this young woman was receptive, interested and intelligent. We went over a few key concepts to help her "fill in the gaps" and she was successful on her reassessment. Made my day.

So, right now I am no more rested but really aware of the difference we all make in each others lives....particularly in the simple interactions that you don't normally look to for meaning.

Tonight, I get on the prep for trip treadmill. I need to go out to my coworkers to pick up my PDA so I do not have to bring the laptop for law/policy. I need to look at garb and pack and buy groceries.

Tomorrow is catch up and finish packing and Friday is all about mileage.

Today, I need to take time out to be thankful.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland