Well, Happy 45th to me...
2004-09-05 - 7:18 p.m.

This weekend was FULL!

The weekend actually started several weeks ago when I realized my work schedule and impending SCA tasks were conspiring to make me crazy! So I reclaimed some sanity with a Pennsic cancellation and paid that energy into the work and SCA energy banks that were dangerously depleted.

This week was a study in balance between Seneschal tasks and Peer tasks as I prepped for a number of aspects of Coronation.


Through the Grace of God I have been blessed with tremendous friends who not only checked on my sanity but made sure every aspect of the weekend was covered.

Friday, with much subterfuge (read that as more lies than will ever get you in heaven) we executed a beautiful surprise vigil for my (former) protege, Mistress Emma of ELANDONAN.

I wanted it to be perfect for her and I was fortunate to have discussed her needs and desires several times so we had much in place when the time neared. Still, there were many who contributed greatly to the experience. Yeah, it takes a village...

I will leave that tale for Emma to tell in the sweetness of time but suffice it to say that so many came together to make a beautiful experience. You all know how much your generosity has touched me.


Crown events are always full days for me so my day did not end with Emma's elevation. There was the bittersweetness of seeing friends leave the throne and the joy of seeing other friends take up the burden of the Crown. There was a WONDERFUL work team to tear down the vigil site and then we had time for a bit of silliness afterward as we waded in what must be one of the muckiest lakes in America...Kimmie or Nia must tell that story.

There were the tasks and little meetings to get done before I could go to the hotel and relax in preparation for a sweet little birthday planned by my family.


My birthday started with pink bubblebath and pixie sticks...nothing says Girlie-Girl like that! Except maybe my pearl and garnet earrings!

Soon we were putting out pink and red and white food as our daughters felt that we should embrace the girliness still bubbling inside their 45 year old mom.

Emma has made me my very own Pink Authorization Card...such weapons forms have never been seen in Atlantia.

Soon we were introducing Hidden Mountaineers to citizens of Storvik and Marinus to Nottinghill. It was a lovely blend of interesting, caring and lovely people.


So today dawned early...so early when you have not slept. Nia and Neal helped tidy the suite and so many hands made light work of it. William came by to bum some hot water and gave me the ultimate gift of helping pack the suite.

Before I knew it I was home. Ready to enjoy my evening and express my thankfulness for all the blessings of the weekend.


Love to all and thank you for all your support and well-wishes.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland