Tire Gauges and Lipsticks
2004-07-12 - 12:47 p.m.

So, you have to hit my "previous button" to read my reflections on BdeB's vigil and knighting at Assessement.

Here I will reflect on other parts of the weekend...like tire gauges and lipstick.


Nia forgot her lipstick so as we were getting ready Friday night and Saturday morning, I dug through my purse to find five different lipsticks one of which was well suited to each of her outfits. More on that later.

Saturday dawned hot and OH MY GOD, HUMID! So humid that those of us girls silly enough to have worn foundation were soon wondering if we were tearing up from emotion or the sad fact that our makeup was getting in our eyes as it slid down our faces!

Before and after court, we set about gathering this and that and trying to be unobstrusive in our packing while still conducting this and that piece of business. All this while pausing frequently to rehydrate and to wonder at the cosmic ability to create a rainstorm of condensation underneath a linen dress.

Before we knew it we were done, both packing and frankly with the weather. Nikulai had realized the night before that the site had tics so I had promised we would not stay the day on site. Frankly, at this point all I needed in the world was AC. As I surveyed one last time trying to figure out how we lost a rubbermaid container my eyes lighted on Theo who, while a vision of period loveliness, was indeed melting in the humidity.

I offered her to join our great escape and to our surprise and pleasure she deferred watching Roland fight and returned with us to the Days Inn where we offered our somewhat limited AC and a cool shower.

Plans for a movie soon dissipated into a languid afternoon of quiet conversation. We watched the thunder and lightening and the MOLs in the room remarked that they had surely cancelled fighting. Having cooled and refreshed Theo's celebrated brain, she quickly realized that this meant that there was nothing separating her from her Roland than distance and the regrettable choice of not having her own transport. Once decided, that yearning for connection with your lifemate just cannot be ignored so I gamely agreed to drive her back to site.

When we got there, I did not want Theo to have to slog through the wet to find Roland after she had just freshened up (we knew he was packing up as their car had been moved to the field). So, despite her concern that there were tracks in the grass, I struck on across the field to deliver her safely back. "How soggy could it be," I wondered, having never been stuck before.

I knew enough not to drive through the muddy tracks. Still, we had proceeded only a few few car lengths when I felt the first loss of traction and decided to head for the top of the hill where I hoped drainage would be better.

God is good to me as we got there without trouble but not so good as to not have my arrival witnessed by Cuan as well as several of my dear friends among whom were Sir Colin and Sir Aradd.

Now, Theodora once described to me that there are 3 kinds of girls: boy girls, women girls and girly-girls. I had wanted to be a woman girl and I guess occasionally I am...but let's face it, I am indeed a girl-girl.

I get out of the car to celebrate not having gotten stuck and to develop phase two of my plan. But, before I knew it I was having to explain what could only be described as a decent intention but poor choice to a bunch of guys. This without the benefit of Theo who had been sucked away as soon as I stopped by the Roland magnetic field.

Now, I have never described myself as a good traveler and often arrange to break up journeys or drive with friends for a reason. I have enjoyed the fact that my husband takes care of much of my trip prep and has provided for me with AAA Plus roadside service for when I am in trouble without him. I know who I am and so does he and well, we do alright, don't we?

This has never been a problem until I had to explain myself to these guys. I don't know Cuan well, but I know how smart he is and that he deposes witnesses for a living so I knew better than to bluff that I knew anything about a parking brake. That was icing on the offroad choice cake. It only added to it when I had to admit I had no idea how to take the brake off once I had put it on. (That IS why they give you a manual for your car.)

Then of course, I noticed that the tire that had to be plugged after ToC had poor tread. Too nervous not to mention it, I then had to admit that I did not have a tire gauge. (Turns out I did, Les keeps one in the glove box).

At this point, I just wanted to walk back to the hotel but instead, I had to drive the car onto the pavement with the King and Knights helping with traction. They really were kind and patient and were trying to care for me without I think realizing how horrible it was for me to be center stage in a spectacle.

I got out to thank them and to gather up my tattered dignity when Genie presented her tire gauge FROM HER PURSE and they proceeded to make sure I had the right PSI before I was set on my way.

Now, I guess that was all funny and I now know better than to rely on my sheer will to take the van offroad. I told the story to Nia and how I never really feel bad about being a girlie-girl except for times like this. After all, girlie-girls are pretty good for when your feelings are hurt or you need something decorated. I expressed how here I was with the woman girl (Theo) and the boy girl (Genie) and not one person with whom I could relate as a girlie-girl.

I told her I did not have a tire gauge but I did have five shades of lipstick and a AAA card in my purse.

I am okay with that.


You gotta ask the right person for the right thing.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland