Consider Circumstances
2004-07-07 - 6:51 p.m.

"Consider that thou dost not even understand whether men are doing wrong or not, for many things are done with a certain reference to circumstance. And, in short, a man must learn a great deal to enable him to pass a correct judgment on another man's acts." Marcus Aurelius


One of the tenets of my adult beliefs has been to focus on the possibility that there is information not at hand when I cannot understand why something happens or why someone chose to say or do something...particularly something hurtful.

It has helped me learn to be less reactive to take a moment to reflect on how little I know of a person's past experiences and often, even their present life stressors. From there it is a short hop to realizing that they probably have little understanding of my past or indeed my present.

That does not mean that I am free from judgement...to be so would be to be free of not only my rigid rearing but indeed what may be a basic coping skill of humanity. It just means I have found solace in contemplating that maybe there are indeed circumstances that would allow someone to make hurtful choices. From there that same rearing and my spirit call on me to release, forgive and pray for understanding and peace for me and the individual.

Not sure why I am reflecting on this today...maybe it was revisiting Marcus Aurelius.

Worth rereading I think.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland