Corporate America
2004-03-25 - 1:24 p.m.

OK, so you gentle readers know that recently I moved offices and now have a little suite with a shared office, storage closet and a little conference-classroom.

I have tried to be positive about the effects for the department in spite of the additional personal stressors.

I have both cried and buoyed up others. I have recently received the Golden Palmetto which is really a fine "atta-boy."

But sometimes working in a corporation just gets to you.

First of December I was authorized to get a TV and a VCR for the classroom. I already had an AV cart.

TV and VCR did not come until first week of January (yes, there are thousands of them in Columbia but you know you have to do things the corporate way). Then we decide to wall mount them for space and security....place order for wall mounts.

End of January one part comes in...other part doesn't.

By February both parts of mount are in...problem is engineering mounts the wall bracket and clinical engineering mounts the equipment on the bracket...

At a meeting on Feb 11 with the head of clinical engineering...mention that the bracket is still under the desk.

Feb 24 email him that no-one has picked up the bracket...so someone does.

March 18 email for an ETA for mounting the equipment....nothing.

Yesterday the Administrators came around on rounds, "Any problems?" they cheerfully ask. I demure but they persist so I tell them about the bracket, the icky lobby carpet and the embarassing state of the public bathroom in our lobby...they should not have persisted.

This morning I come in and they have left the classroom open...the wall mount is half up (but too high like when you go to the movies and sit on the front row) and my VCR has been stolen.

This is on top of being sent a four page Publisher file with multiple graphics to print 100 color copies and manually staple which is really not my job but the marketing mgr's time is apparently precious. The document has errors which I do not detect until 50 pages in....grrr. The document is so large, my pc will not even let me do emails while it is printing....double grrrr! Then my printer breaks and won't shoot out the paper. Triple grrr!

So, Engineering Mgr comes to look at the bracket (Yep, too high) and IT comes to fix the pc virtual memory issue and break the printer, security comes to file the stolen property report. I then find out from Janos (who happens to work for the company that does our hardware work) that my printer is under warranty so it likely will get picked up and I will have to wait on a new one....and IT tells me they have no loaner printers!

Gotta love corporate America!

How is your week?

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland