Happiness is Where You Make It
2004-03-18 - 11:19 a.m.

OK, so sometimes I do get down but most of the time I try to maintain a default setting of happiness. It did not come naturally nor was I nurtured in that way...it came by choice after years of often being sad, hurt, afraid, betrayed and on guard.

See, the alternative eventually became self-evident. Continue to be unhappy and focused externally on what others could do or say to me...or focus inwardly on my responses.

From that first choice came a sense of peace and then empowerment over my own destiny. Yes, I still have to live in the world with all its frustrations. If you are close to me, you know that I am still tender hearted but you also know that very few have the power to truly hurt me.

In most instances of pain and frustration now, if I can quiet myself enough...I find that I am struggling with releasing control of something I could never control in the first place.

Choose release not the facade of control, choose personal empowerment not abdication, choose happiness over frustration.

Why not be happy whenever you can?

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland