Black
2004-03-01 - 4:38 p.m.

Tired....had to be at work at 0500 so that meant up at 0400...so to bed at 8pm (no Oscars for Anne)...but alarm at 0400 means waking up at 0115 and 0315 because you are subconsciously sure you will oversleep.

Skills assessment again. Went decently well. Early to bed tonight though!

Balynar wrote one of the best essays on grief I have ever read. I could relate as my whole life I have been taught to own a presentable black dress. Our children did not attend funerals as wee ones...but they did attend their grandmother's. As she deteriorated I made them go shopping for that presentable black dress. The dresses that reminded them of the loss. The ones that they avoided wearing for a year. The dress Kate cried over when she had to wear it to the ballet, Dracula, because the audience was expected to wear black. I am glad I made her wear it so that it is not just "the funeral dress."

I am sorry Balynar, for your family's pain now and for the pain of the next months.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland