Focus and Drive
2004-02-19 - 3:05 p.m.

Sometimes, you get to work with a group with an issue and you are impressed with their ability to express themselves fully while still hearing and understanding all other viewpoints addressed.

Refreshingly Adult.


When I start to look at time off and plan to do other things like paint...I should listen for the other shoe dropping. Last night, my plans to plot out projects morphed into something totally different. Happily ending in being proud of the collaboration. Still, I am determined to work out a design and begin to think out how to best execute it. Delicious anticipation of being able to set brush to paint.

I had forgotten the joy of it until Nikulai's Pel banner. I had of course, not enough time to make sure it was perfect but as I layered on each feather I felt that little part of me that had been squalched breathing back into life. Perfection was less important than the combination of focus and emotion. When I applied for this job, Cym told me she was worried that I would let that part of me suffocate. Instead, I will find time to make that an area of refreshment.

For some of us the SCA is a place to feed many parts of our spirit. Obviously service is like air to some of us. But there are other drives as well.

I am committed to finding some bit of time to serve the other drive.

Ahhh if only Friday were done.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland