Home Again
2004-01-25 - 6:46 p.m.

So this weekend was Stierbach Investiture...I took off Friday for travel so it would not be too bad. Had to go by to pick up my coat which I left at the office and no, she had not done anything.

I got on the road and got to Emma's in good time. We had a nice visit and I picked up a gorgeous new wool outfit she made for Les (no more frozen popcycle rapier MOL at Ymir!). We had time for a brief visit before I ran over to Raleigh to get the Nia. By this time I was running late but we ended up at the hotel by ten which was pretty good considering the first part of the trip was more East-West than South to North!

Got up the next day and wandered around til we found site. It is COLD up there. Poor Maxie was glad to have Thjora and her cloak to snuggle into! Had a great time. Theo is the vigil goddess and man our Order looks good with Ilse in it! Evan had a neat invitation by Writ of Summons and will be on vigil at Ponte Alto. Had some laughs in between the requisite "moments of my time." Got to meet several wonderful people and place names to faces. Missed Ceridwen and Gruffudd but they were hard workers so sometimes you just can't get everything in!

Fun with folks. Got to have a great chat with Nia, Isobel and Tonwen. A few seconds with Colin and Southern Comfort ;-) An interesting and informative talk about male extra-uterine pregnancy experimentation. Hair gel and bee hive experiments in the ladies room. Connected with Aryanna who is glowing in her new role as Baroness Lochmere. Knowing smiles with Corwyn and Caitlyn. All in all a great day and just what I needed.

Corby was wonderful and courtly as Ilse's Chivalry Worthy. I got to read Les's Laurel words in the ceremony. I was nervous and like half of us sniffling by that point with cold and/or emotion...his words were so evocative of him, both his humor and his regard of her. Aryanna read Rose words from MENG from across the seas and Corwyn spoke from his heart for us. As Gyrth's scroll text was read complete with analogies between Ilse and Rapunzel, his Majesty ended the ceremony with a hug and she captured the Crown with her hair. Perfect ending.

Good friends prevailed on me and Nia to start heading out so we left before feast and drove to Richmond. Thank God for Kim and Byram cause by the time I dropped Nia off I-40 was almost impassable.

C&P called to make sure I was making it home and Daemon called with wonderful snow driving advice which gave me the last bit of confidence I needed to head Southeast ahead of the storm. By I-95 it was so much better and better still as I got farther home.

Home to good SCA news...I will let them share for themselves! and lots of sweet calls to let people know I am fine.

TOO tired for writing presentations so tomorrow I work late! Tonight I have soup courtesy of my honey, a hand and wrist massage (cause I grip the wheel too hard in bad weather) and an early night of sleep.

Love to all!

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland