Sometimes the "Best Buy" Is Not Worth It
2003-12-15 - 10:08 a.m.

Well, this weekend Les took Christie to a spend the night party in Manning and picked her up Sat midday (yep about 3.5 hours round trip but her friend moved and she only sees her about three times a year now) When he returned...I grabbed my box of Puffs and we braved the cold drizzling rain and mall traffic to finish Christmas shopping for the Florida family so that Gpa could take them down with him.

Amazing how easy it is to find "just the right thing" when you have a head full of fluid and your motivation is waning. Still we did very well I think and in record time.

So we went to Best Buy to peruse the PDAs and look for Gpa a CD player and music to take to Nicaragua for his mission trip in Jan. We got there and as I stepped up to the counter the sales manager (I read her tag) swooped down on me like a vulture. "Can I help you?" "I just wanted to browse; I am looking into a PDA purchase but have not yet decided on which model." Then began the grilling of what I do, where I do it, what I wanted to do with the PDA (complete with erroneous asumptions) each in a brisk staccato which was only partially understood because of the fluid in my ears.

Perhaps she could not tell that the flush in my face which matched my rednose was not part of my cold. Still, when a customer states, "You know, I am really not responding well to your sales approach," that should be a real clue that you are going too far.

Still, I told her what I was considering and she asked for specific model information so I took my quote out of my pocket to consult it. She actually started to pull it from my hand! At this point it was all I could do not to slap her hand. Instead, I pulled the paper to my chest and said, "Do you mind?"

At this point, I knew I did not care if she wanted to give me a PDA...I did not want to contribute to her Christmas commissions. When I registered a mild complaint, the person at the desk said, "Oh her, that is just her way."

Wow....

So, I got a bit more info from Roland (who is the antithesis of the Best Buy Broad) and I will just do the best I can.

Ignorance is bliss after all. Not knowing whether I got a good deal will help me maintain my impression that I have. And I can give the commission on my purchase to the nice guy.

But Roland deserves one too.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland