Making it.Happen
2003-10-31 - 4:05 p.m.

Just finished my first day of instruction with a nurse transitioning from Special Care Nursery to Cardiac Telemetry (ambulatory care). I am not sure why she made such a big change in career directions but she did. Now it is my job to usher her into our part of the profession, teaching her the nuances of cardiac conduction systems and arrhythmias as well as hemodynamics, coronary perfusion and all the pathologies that we Americans have to muck up the perfect designs that we are.

All this while respecting her as my peer, an adult and someone who is under the stress of knowing how well she functions in the old environment and choosing to go back through the unease of a huge learning curve.

My job is indeed challenging but ahhh the rewards! If I can give her the support and the tools and she meets them with intellect and accountability, time will give her experience and judgement. I will have then been a part of all the patients' lives she will touch in the future.

Nice thought to hold on to....

.....cause right now, I am just tired.

I left my reading glasses at home and so I had to look at ECG strips with eyestrain.

I will be settling into a car any minute for a 6-7 hour trip to go to Crown.

I pray for a lovely day tomorrow full of smiles and people being happy with the way the tournament goes down.

I look forward to my friends...and then Sunday with just us four before I start the week with more class instruction and project development.

Is it Thanksgiving yet?

See you in Wmsburg.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland