Untying Knots
2003-10-27 - 9:35 a.m.

Well, shortly I am going home to my life's most unpleasant task. Is it dishes or the laundry, you ask? No...it is cutting out material in preparation for SCA garb. But if I do not make another layer for the girls, Murphy's Law will turn the weather cold for Crown. So, instead I will sew...yep, I live to serve :-)


It seems that for every action there is indeed an equal reaction.

Just as the initial injury three years ago caused subsequent unilateral musculoskeletal changes (my left hip developed a partial contracture shortening my left leg by over an inch and worsening the gait abnormality from the numb outer aspect of my foot), it seems I am now suffering the resolution of all of that.

You see, now my hip mobility has improved and my legs are almost the same length. The problem is that I had developed a bit of foot drop (like walking on your toes on that foot) so now my achilles tendon has tendonitis as it has had to stretch with each step as it had not done for three years.

As my back straightens back out I am having these lovely little muscle spasms of my right or "good side."

Guess it is good to know all of this is positive. I had simply thought that when things got better they just "got better."

But then, I guess your back is like a little metaphor for life. Most growth is not direct and carefree. It is circular and often involves uncovering another issue that has to be worked on before you finish the original task.

So here I sit, with a tangle of multi colored yarn, teasing apart one knot only to uncover another one.

A lesson in patience and perseverence.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland