I may not be a ten but I am a definite six 1/2 G.
2003-10-20 - 10:51 a.m.

It seems my back is back...

Not sure if it was the trip or hitting the ground running at work or what but by Saturday I was in tears which had not happened in a long time. The fam went to the movies, and then to run my errands while I drifted into a heavily medicated sleep with the cell phone by the bed so I would be able to catch some calls I expected.

I awakened to the cell phone ring but it was only Les in the hair dye aisle..."Okay honey, I see 1, 2 and 3 but no 6 1/2." "That is the level of permanence to the dye, Sweetheart....look for the L'Oreal section and check the boxes and read me what the color names are for 6, 6 1/2 and 7."

Yep, he is an extremely generous man, my husband cause he did just that and even joined with Kate in a philosophical discussion on whether 6 1/2A or 6 1/2G was better suited.

Sunday was spent in frequent doses of meds until I felt well enough to dye my hair. I was having trouble with it so Les tried to help but we had reached the end of his hair dye usefulness. Kate helped me finish up and so today, I have no gray, golden brown hair and even a back that is not hurting.

Quick, everyone knock on wood.


Had a lovely call from Sue last night. She is a joy to talk to and really helps keep me sane.

Then I had a disturbing call from my sister. Seems she has made me her beneficiary. Then she wanted to make Kate the subsequent beneficiary (in case we both die at the same time). I asked why she was considering one of our daughters instead of both because that did not feel right to me. As usual, instead of being able to talk she ended with "Never mind, forget I called." Hard thing, communicating with my family. Always a mine field, never soft. Seldom respectful.

So there is another clue to who I am today and why Les and I rear our daughters the way we do.

Who needs to choose pain?

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland