How Many "Best Days" Do You Get?
2003-09-09 - 11:20 a.m.

Coronation was wonderful. Even the "worsts" were plusses...so many learning moments.

You see, I left my family on my birthday so I could drive up the ~10 hours and arrive at a decent time to allow reserves for Saturday. The plus part is obvious, my family made even my hour with them that am a celebration. I got to have real woman connection time with Nia (if you are a guy...ask your wife, girlfriend or mom how important this is). I got to stay in a hotel where I could conserve and recharge which I have come to realize is extremely important to me.

I left my wallet at a Phillips 66 in BFE, NC. I found out when we had just finished eating a lobster dinner for my birthday at Occaquan, VA....can you say dishpan hands? Still, I learned my husband never gets angry. Nia is a great problem solver..."Call Nikulai!" Having Nikulai for a friend is an exemplar of devotion and Lucia rivals Les for patience. Oh, and I learned that my husband's advice (which I followed in Raleigh) to always travel with enough money to start car repairs is also good for buying lobster dinners.

I learned that people who love me and support me can make me feel secure and beautiful. Between Isabel, Emma, Nia, our girls and Niobe, I felt secure in my appearance for such a public day. I enjoyed reciprocating. Thank you Sue for your confidence, love and support.

I learned that there is a difference between modern and Amish expectations of a turnpike.

I learned it is bittersweet to be passed the baton from someone you really respect. Sweet because there is trust but bitter in that you will miss their leadership. I learned that Seneschal red is not my color but I have the key to a haceinda in Trimaris. I learned that even friends enjoy pointing at the new guy.

I did not have my own pavilion but for once, I felt totally secure that what I had was a cooperative. Everyone worked together to make the day perfect and it showed with the smiles of the folks who came by to hang out.

I learned that Seneschals get asked some interesting questions and have to ask some hard ones themselves.

The day was full of positive vibes. Isabel's happy smile...Corwyn's relaxed humor...Kyneburh's regal beauty... secure support of the Crown, the GOofs, Peers, friends and best of all, hard working, respectable Atlantians.

I learned that staying open to folks is hard but worth it cause sometimes they come around.

There is never enough time to enjoy all that the SCA has to offer. Never. You either miss A&S or the laughter of a friend or seeing the tourney or being on staff. What a joy to have too much that is too good to miss.

Sometimes you can have too much food but there can almost not be too much fun at feast. We were tired but the added bonus of a new (or almost new-3 monther) couple to our mix allowed us to share excitement about the talents of our cooks and the wonder of the presence of the pageant from fresh eyes. For this man, Kyneburh will always be His Queen...the one who came to sit with him at his first event to describe the Crowns of Atlantia. For me, dinner was one of those moments when I realize how far I have come from the girl who would never have dared speak to anyone at that table....the SCA has given me so much.

I learned Strawberry Hat should always refer (if irreverently) to a beautiful metal Ducal Coronet....anything else is just scarey.

Richmond believes they will one day need to build huge skyscrapers along I-95 north of the city. To that end they have designed a series of overpasses that resemble a ride at Disney. I shall not be taking them...not even to repeat the best post event lunch I have ever experienced. Afterall, I am married to the Master.

Coffee is the essential fluid of life and therefore must be an integral part of blood serum or something. I need to look that up.

I learned that you need to make lists for this job and it will be nice to be old enough in it to have a routine.

Homecomings are wonderful. Last night I was told, "Well, we are just trying to continue your birthday!" My non-cuddling kid missed me enough to sit chatting with me with her legs thrown over my lap for over an hour.

And just think, I have so much more to learn.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland