Warm Fuzzies
2003-08-28 - 2:48 p.m.

Well, today I went to our Corporate Leadership meeting to participate in our Praise and Recognition segment. I went with another Internship Coordinator to recognize an LPN in our anesthesia dept because he takes our Nurse Interns and proctors each of them for a day in starting IVs. May seem small but that is all the new RNs for three nursing divisions (about 15 nursing depts). All of those nurses are new, nervous, bumbling and he helps them gain physical and emotional confidence to come back ready to do this essential skill.

I had to say this in front of about 150 VP's, Directors and Managers. I was nervous. Even before that I saw a guy walk in who I had just sent a complimentary email about. He apparently habitually pays for the lunches of elderly visitors in our cafeteria. Saw him do it today.

Sure enough, they read my email and recognized him....shortly later I had to do my recognition of Chuck and before I could sit down, our Heart Leadership recognized me for my contributions to our morale through FISH.

If that wasn't enough to make me tear up, then my director had to pass on the Caring from the Heart leadership trophy and she gave it to our VP for his compassion during her grief and for how it affected the way our department sees administrators.

Not everything is always right about where I work but today I just have to say that I am truly blessed with the tone of leadership here at Richland. Makes me sure of what I do and why.

That is a lovely place to be so far into a career.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland