Good news and Summer storms
2003-07-11 - 4:57 p.m.

Good news! I only have to deal with my little antique pc for one more week! May be because of all the support calls it has recently needed (including the face plate falling off just before my vacation). May be that they ordered me a new spiff printer and then realized my pc is too old to "handle it" or the CD burner that was also approved for my use. May be just that the Good Lord knows I have been challenged to Choose Grace too often with trying to accomplish a hare's pace with the tortoise technology.

In any case, next week I get a shiny new pc with CD burner, flat screen monitor and laserjet printer! Just about the time I leave office work for five weeks of clinical precepting! Ah, the irony!

Still, moving all my files to my server folder has caused me to review some for deletion and so I have come across some sweet and some challenging memories. Good for the soul to reflect on the past and then release to the future.


Our sky is grey...soon will come another SC July monsoon. Our summers are hazy heat and thick humidity punctuated by the loud crash of thunder, bright flashes of lightening and driving rain. From my childhood I remember gentle showers but now it seems to be more often violent storms...not sure if it was me or the weather that changed.

Still, if you manage to avoid the lightening or flash floods, there is that wonderful clean period just after the rain. When nothing is dusty, the greens are intense against the newly washed greys of the city. There is that sharp scent of brimstone still in the air from all the lightening. Like a warning to enjoy the cleanliness of the world.

Have to enjoy it quickly though...in just moments the heat of the SC sun begins to evaporate the ground water returning us all to oppressive humidity.

But it is worth the moment.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland