Pennsic envy and other updates
2003-07-10 - 4:32 p.m.

Pennsic envy...sounds kind of Freudian doesn't it as it is after all only a matter of 2 too many letters!

Still, everyone is gearing up. We are not. I really am glad as it is a bit of a hassle every year. But,it is such a big part of Atlantian life and some part of me hates to miss the chance to see most of my SCA friends.

So, once again our pavilion will go to Pennsic but we won't. I joked to Sue that I need a t-shirt that says "My pavilion went to Pennsic and all I got was this Tshirt!" Still, I like that it gets used and is out of the storage unit and airing for a few days instead of closed storage in the humid SC summer.


House update...finishing den this weekend and continuing wallpaper removal. Ick what a mess but the girls are very excited about the decorating projects. I am quite proud of Kate and her willingness to contribute productively. Christie at 13 is still a bit of a "Ooooo! Shiney!" person whose constant distractions mean Les and I must watch what we do and what she is doing. Better to have her do the caring for the decorating crew!

I am very excited about having three rooms redone and will be on a mission to redo our room after these are completed.


Momma Update...Kate's sweet sixteen is in a few weeks. Wow! hard to believe. She is having a boy-girl sushi party. Her cake is going to be covered in rolled fondant icing wood grained to look like a board. On it we will place dessert "sushi" (rolled krispy rice treats around gummy worms covered in wide strips of fruit rollup). There will be a clump of green icing wasabi, sugar paste pickled ginger and a bowl of choc sauce soy. The cake will say, "Happy Sushi Sixteen, Katie"

She is thrilled.

We have been asked if the young man that Christie hangs out with in Windmasters can correspond with her via email and phone.

He is a very nice young man but it is an adjustment for her dad and I. Before anyone gives me advice, she is 13 and we are very conservative.

She is intrigued. We are cautious.


Work is warming up :-) As some of you know I am the staff educator for the Heart and Vascular Hospital, a division of our medical center with nine departments and about 350 employees. I also do new RN orientation and so every summer I get a set of new "chicks" from the May grad class to Mother Hen. They started in hospital orientation and I will have them starting next Wed for about 5 weeks. Fun and challenging at the same time.

Glad I took the lovely long break though!


Working through some personal goals right now and finding that I am quite happy with where I am. Looking at a few painting projects since the banners for Nikulai were such a joy. There is a new art supply store opening this weekend so there will be more than latex wall paint in my house this summer!

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland