Muirgheal's Five
2003-07-04 - 6:58 p.m.

These questions are from Muirgheal...if you have not yet met her, she is a bright young dynamo from my Barony. Smart, caring and driven to serve.

Nice ones M...and hard.


1)We have talked quite a bit about the blogging, its uses and its effects on

relationships, how would you change the blogging comunity to better effect

communicaton?

Ahhh, I use this forum for keeping up with folks far away, to explore my thoughts and perhaps reveal another dimension of who I am. It really pretty much meets my needs.

Despite my occasional inclination to just let rip on a rant, I don't particularly care to read conflict. Just not something I try to foster in my life so I do not need to put it or get it here. I have never been a proponent of arguing for the sake of arguing. Cym and I used to smile and say we were arrogant enough to walk away assured we were right!

So I guess I would try to keep diaryland civil.


2)You seem to ALWAYS "do vigils". What does it mean to you as a person and

as a peer to be able to preform this service?

I have said before...I go to most because these people either supported me in my work before my Pelican or in my personal growth then or since. To not make their dreams a reality just because I am now old and tired seems selfish and petty. As a Peer, it is one of my areas of largesse and also is part of a renewal of my own Peerage as the Order goes on. As a woman it is both my way of giving thanks and making sure new Peers are truly cared for. Just like any behavior, you do what makes you happy.


3)Name 5 women in history that you admire and why.

Eleanor of Aquitane because of her endurance and resiliance. She knew that the goal was to win the race not the first sprint.

Eleanor Roosevelt because of her care for the common man. She proved that the First Lady was more than the hostess for the White House.

Mother Teresa because of her unwillingness to ignore the lowly. She embodied Christian Charity.

Elizabeth Kubler-Ross because of her research that made grief somehow understandable. I cannot imagine nursing or living without it.

Edna St. Vincent Millay because her words moved me as a young woman. She gave voice to my heart�s belief that life was a mixture of love and pain but it was life.


4)What qualities do you hope to find in your daughters as they grow up and

how to do you feel you influence shaping who they are?

Humor, compassion, self awareness, confidence. Ahhh, mothers are meant to serve as both positive and negative examples! I try to help them think through processes. I compliment them on their talents and try to gently guide them to understand their areas of frustration. I make sure they see love with their father but also humor and compassion.

Still, I am too exacting and often too volatile. I am sure I give them ample reasons to want to grow beyond me and hopefully to want a life of their own. :')


5)Now what I REALLY want to know! You dont use your registered heraldry, you

use a badge that isnt registered. The herald in me is dieing to know why you

dont release the arms you dont use and register what you do and what would

it take for you to let me do this for you!:)

Because the badge grew out of who I know am. The heart for my name and for the core of me...the coronet and A are from the Cantebury badge (Love Conquers All) and represent my name, my title of CB and Amore. Oh you can write up my badge I guess.

I designed my heraldry as too young a SCAdian. It was all about meaning and less about design. I tried to change it once but found the process too unwieldly. Then several hard working scribes have used it for wonderful scrolls so I do not want to ruin their work. Les and I do have a badge of our combined arms which we would like to use....just can't seem to find time between dressing four SCAdians and event tasks (see #2)


I will have to think on my trip tomorrow of five good ones for you!

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland