"I want to be a ____"
2003-07-03 - 6:07 p.m.

In reading various journals I noted a few comments concerning how Peers feel when they hear someone state, "I want to be ___ (Knight, Laurel, Pelican, Queen).

I can remember when I did feel that was looked on as presumption but that was long before I myself entered a peerage order.

Now, most of my close friends who are peers do not seem to mind it but instead see that as a worthy goal.

Part of it I think is whether there is a sense of accompanying entitlement in the person's other words or behaviors (like "if I do ___ then they will have to make me a ___." or "cause I am just as good as ___/the last peer made.)

For those who are exploring goals for themselves in this life consuming hobby why not want a peerage?

So any of you out there who are service junkies and who one day want a key to the Pelican washroom...fine with me. The air is not so rare as the goal is not open to all.

Look forward to seeing you there.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland