We all need to relax
2003-06-08 - 12:38 p.m.

As I said in the original post, it is not really important whether you posted answers, emailed me or never shared the answers....I just hoped folks would spend a few moments reflecting on what really is important despite our harried, over-booked and stressed lives...

Love

Seemed most of my friends and even I had sunk into a kind of funk where every action or inaction seemed to have a sinister meaning. More often than not....

They don't.


This weekend was a lovely interlude. Yes, it would have been "better" to spend it cleaning the girls' bedrooms (teenagers create lots of stuff and clothes piles). But as I said, we all needed a break so we ran up to Greenville to stay at the Embassy.

I got to spend the day with friends who seldom get to see me away from events. Shopped for neat oriental stuff for Kate's room. I got to pop into Crabtree and Evelyn to pick up some Nantucket Briar (my version of crack). Meanwhile fam went to the zoo before we all got together at the hotel for wine in the afternoon while the kids chlorinated themselves again in the pool.

Evening was spent in one of those lovely group hug kind of thrown together meals at Ryan and Triska's beautiful home. Perfect steaks (a feat in itself when everyone wanted them different from mooing with a tan (me) to well done). The best part was just calm conversation. Companionable and relaxing. No expectations, posturing and role playing. Ahhhhh.

Home today after a splendid breakfast to prep for summer birthdays (Les, Chris and Dr Dad) and Father's Day (another "first" after).

Seems yesterday is right up there on my list of happiest days....

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland