First Mother's Day After
2003-05-09 - 9:56 a.m.

Sunday is Mother's Day...this one is different in that it is Les's first without his Mom. He is doing well...he wanted to focus on this now being my day as we have always maintained that day for one of our Mom's. I thought that was sweet and his way of dealing with this "first."

His daddy called. He wanted to "take Ann to dinner for Mother's Day." "I mean, you guys come too but I just thought that would be nice for her."

Les put the phone down and came to explain what his dad had offered and I said that was fine. He paused to make sure that I was sure as this was my first "solo" Mother's Day. I was touched at his focus on me but so acutely aware that his Dad has no one else here.

Grief is odd...you can put it aside and the tone of it changes but then it wells again within you. The girls have not been back to the gravesite. Tonight we are preparing flowers and I will see whether they want to go to take them. Dwight should have flowers...it is Spring and she always loved them.


We miss you.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland