Manor House and Renal Colic
2003-04-29 - 11:58 a.m.

So last night I sewed in the den (can I just mention how much I hate to sew?) while we four watched Manor House. Manor House is a PBS offering which I believe the BBC completed before Frontier House was filmed. Very similar in nature. Several modern day folk arrive at an English country manor home prepared to enter "service" at the staff of a 1906 home. In addition to the responsibilities of the home they have another family who has been selected to play their "betters" or the employing Lord and Lady of the manor.

Naturally, the family tends to fare better in their roles than the servants particularly the surprisingly whiney scullery maids (two in rapid succession as they seem to have a two day shelf life).

Very interesting and at times funny as well as stereotypical as the French Chef is tempermental, the young female staff tearful and the young male staff irresponsible with alcohol.


Caution...medical update to follow...


Just as it was winding down and I was making good progress with Kate's dress, I developed an odd pain in my back that was not quite like a pulled muscle but not as constant as my kidney infections. Still it was like being grabbed and punched repeatedly and I began to run through a differential assessment to see if this was something worth seeing an MD about. It reminded me of my gallbladder attacks but instead it was in my left flank and seemed to pass to a dull ache after about 45 minutes. If it were not for the mild hematuria I likely would have ignored it.

So, I just got back from my "stat" urinalysis and indeed I have microscopic hematuria...and my own personal strainer to take with me to the lavatory. I thought of Nia and how she always drinks tons of healthy water and I wish I had followed through with her example. If I have more issues...the next step is a renal ultrasound and/or an intravenous pylogram (IVP)....for those of you privy to the rest of my life...this is not the week for this.

So keep me in your thoughts and prayers...now to go get some bottled water.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland