No real news...life goes on.
2003-04-09 - 11:54 a.m.

Ok,so it has definitely been a while but I am not as bad as Q at updating afterall.

So I will try to give you a few brief updates on the different areas of my life.


Family

Les and I are enjoying our daughters' need to get us out of the house on "date nights." We get an occassional call on the cell saying, "Hey, I will cook something for Chris...we want you all to go out on a date." Sweet and no, we do not suspect them of ulterior motive.

Les and I got the girls on April Fool's by calling Kate to let her know one of her teachers had called and put her on Beta Club probation...I ended with "and while you are talking to him make sure he knows not to bother calling me with something this stupid on April Fool's Day..." She was really surprised that I not Dad pulled one on her. Heh, heh! For Chris we had to be even better as she would now be on alert so we called the local Seneschal and asked him to pretend to call for us on a "matter of grave circumstance" concerning Chris. We arrived home to a dutifully copied message with the added text of "Who is this man, I do not know him and I really can't think of what I did!" Heh, Heh! Next year will be harder to get away with it!


Work

Reformatting classes. Training for the new and real pain in the ass HIPA guidelines. Be aware that when you seek treatment and they ask if you want your presence in the hospital to be listed or not in the directory, if you say no then NOBODY will be told even if you are there. That means if your Mom comes from out of town or your wife shows up from work and asks....we are mandated to say, "We have no information on that patient." Yep, I can hear the bitching and screaming now from anxious loved ones who think we are keeping them from their families....read about it and understand it so you can make a good choice.

Also doing Fish Philosophy training trying to instil more joy in our workplace. Four philosophies: Play (make and maintain an environment where it is safe to use humor and other aspects of play) Be Present (really attend to others: their needs, their words. No answering the phone or thinking of your next task.) Choose Your Attitude (recognize that attitude is a choice, yep that one is easiest for me.) Make Their Day (work to make a "moment" for as many people as you can.)

I am one of the main facilitators...requires a lot of energy but hopefully will reap much reward.


Health

Went back on my vioxx Monday after being off for five days due to whatever GI bug is running around SC. Went home yesterday nauseated again so I am back off my vioxx again. That means I have to balance back pain and impaired range of motion with trying not to throw up...tricky but hopefully better soon.


SCA and friends

To Emma's this weekend for projects and to help with Pennsic prep. Not going but D'Emma are so good about helping others that I need to help them when I can. Get to see Nia after all but unfortunately no BdeB this weekend. Looking at a hotel for Sapphire.

Not going to Germany. Still looking at a trip to California...we shall see. Very disappointed but some things cannot be helped. Pray for Stephan. Heard this weekend that they have heard from him and he is well but it is hard work and separates him from those who love him most....


Long post but this is basically me these past few weeks. I guess I use this diary mostly to connect to family and friends. Some to reflect on issues pressing on my heart. I guess you would be the better judge...particularly if you waded down this far!

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland