Wise Words, Hard Choices
2003-03-07 - 10:46 p.m.

Someone very wise told me something this week that keeps returning to my thoughts. Likely I am paraphrasing but it is one of the most accurate assessments and wise policies I have heard in a long time. And it continues to touch my heart, so here it is as I can remember it....

"Some folks have not had it easy enough to be teased. Those who have had it "easy" have the security to be teased but others have been hurt and need to be treated with care. I have had it pretty easy in all aspects of my life but I have learned that I have to be careful and try not to tease you."

That meant the world to me as it was a moment of understanding between the two of us. My favorite moments are those when my world touches someone elses and the result is clarity not hurt.

So, thank you. You honor me in trying to understand me and in understanding me you have committed to understanding others. You have my appreciation but more important my respect and regard.

In addition, I watched someone else struggle to react less instinctively and with more civility. It took effort and energy to be in pain and choose the calmer path. That too gains my respect and regard.

Life lessons, won at a price and worth so much because of it.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland