Sisters of My Heart
2003-03-05 - 5:41 p.m.

I have two "real life" sisters. They shared my upbringing in a middle class Southern military family home. They grew up with similar insecurities from being reared by a functional alcoholic and a chronic depressive. They function well within their own lives but whenever we are together oft as not we find ourselves perpetuating the pain of the past.

I have spent much of my adult life "reparenting" and part of that is to have chosen "sisters of my heart." I am blessed in that I have three...three wonderful, charismatic, compassionate and funny women who love me. Truly and with deep faithful trust.

First Cym who many know as Niobe. She took a chance on a woman from SC who people said would be good to help her when she travelled South. She found a wife and mother with similar life cycles just a bit older. :-) We learned to honor the odd synchronicity we shared; to trust and value each other's opinions. To share intimacy and then to be confident in that intimacy despite distance. She was sent to teach me not to neglect my spirit and to return to trust.

Then there was Sue who by the luckiest of strokes is married to Cym's father-in-law and therefore entered my life. Who knew that I could be so happily friends with this woman in Cym's life? She is gentle humor and wisdom personified. I call her "Pearl" because she never fails to gently lead me to think and choose the softer path. She encouraged me to examine and change my motto from "Grace from Pain" to Grace through Choice." She was sent to sooth my spirit and teach me to have faith in myself.

Last, there is Nia. I cannot remember meeting her but I do remember when I think we first "clicked." We were at an event in Hidden Mtn and we sat together in court. Actually, we misbehaved and I just knew I would get in trouble. How silly of a middle aged woman to worry about that but then I worried about everything then. Nia was sent to restore my spirit and to teach me to forgive the past and learn new lessons for the future.

I read somewhere that "when the student is ready, the teacher will come."

I will be forever grateful that I was ready when these women were sent into my life. I am who I am and who I will become because these are the Sisters of My Heart.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland