Reflections of Grief
2003-02-28 - 11:51 a.m.

There is something about loss that brings perspective. There is something about the haze of grief that in time brings clarity.

There are no words that ease the acuteness of this pain for those who have lost such a significant part of their life...only time to learn how to live differently.

For me, I respond as does everyone from personal experience and so I have many thoughts and prayers running through my mind.

I have seen my husband lying unconscious in the floor and followed his ambulance to the hospital wondering if my life could go on. I feel so shocked for Finnr's wife Karen.

I have mourned my parents, mother-in-law, dear friends and coworkers knowing each successive time that the grief would not pass for many many days. I am concerned for strength for Finnr's family and friends particularly his brother who now mourns mother and brother.

I have seen the intimacy of various SCA communities and know already how many of these groups have been affected. I have seen the SCA mourn passings and know that there are right now those who we do not even realize are mourning this man's passing. I hope for understanding and compassion as folks learn what this means to each of us.

For 21 years, I have been one of those by the bedside quietly comforting families as their loved ones pass. It is one of the most intimate gifts of my profession but it is not without its own brand of pain. I empathize with those who will be called on to help others in their grief.

The measure of a man may indeed be in the expanse of loss at his passing. If so, then Finnr has found his measure.

For us, we are left to love one another gently for as long as is needed. I pray that we will not be found wanting.

I am praying for so many.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland