"My Kingdom for a NEW PC"
2003-02-12 - 6:47 p.m.

Two in one day....

What could make me more sad and frustrated than I was this morning? Yep, computers....

God love me but THE WHOLE WORLD SHOULD NOT HAVE TO HAVE A DEGREE IN COMPUTER TECHNOLOGY TO LIVE THROUGH THEIR WORKDAY!

So, Murphy's Law says that if you are on deadline and need to print several documents then one or more of the following will occur.

1) Your printer wheels will wear out and so you will have to hand feed paper into the machine....fortunately, Janos is our outsource for hardware so my work orders get special attention :-)

2) When you switch to another application to work on another project your pc will decide it does not have enough memory allocated to do the job. Can I help it if ECG strips are rather detailed?

3.The computer's printer drivers will somehow malfunction so that while you are at a meeting your pc and printer will decide they just don't like to consistently communicate anymore. Mmm that one is particularly fun.

4. When you call IT, they will tell you that to fix the above THEY HAVE TO COME GET YOUR PC so that you can get NO work done. I told them half a pc was better than none so I would just continue to email documents to the manager next door to print until my deadlines were completed!

Yep, I was almost Postal by the end of the afternoon. Man, why is it so darn hard just to get what you need out of a pc!

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland