Ymir-Warm Memories of a Frosty Weekend
2003-02-10 - 9:30 a.m.

Can you say COLD...if you were at Ymir you can and everyone there will be using the same operating definition of the word!

Still it was a nice event...even a series of nice events. No drama (at least not for me and mine) and no real negative WOW moments. Few regrets and lots of sweet memories. So instead of best and worst, my impressions.

The Wake Forest Winn Dixie is inept...a bad place for a road weary Pel on a mission. Still, the first people I see on site are D & Emma. Mmmm feel the love, sooth the nerves, start over again. Thank you for your constant care.

Corby and Thjora are honorary Pelicans in my book. Our Order rocks when we get together to do a project and Corby and Thjora are usually right there pitching in at 110% of what the rest of us do. They do things right and quiet. I have always respected them and I am not sure when the feeling deepened into the deep regard I now feel for them but this weekend was special in many ways because of them.

Hot cider is a good and bad thing. Mostly good. Thank God for it and the propane heaters. When a vigil handwashing towel freezes stiff by 1130 at night, it is officially cold. Thank you Kenny for the break...I did not realize how cold I was.

Freezing bodies but warm spirits...Laughter and conversation with Gyrth and Mel, Robert and Isobel, Gen and Alan and Cuan. Quiet conversation and smiles with Isabel. Arradd and the "man bread" (8 million points per slice!)

The peace at heart of knowing the mix of quiet confidence and humility in the two men on vigil. What do you say to someone you know is your Peer except welcome and well deserved?

Lucas driving us up to our cars...a special and unexpected treat. Thank you to him and to Cuan for caring for us.

The vigil sites in the morning with the sunlight sparkling on the water and the quiet stillness. I wished the candidates could have been there to still their hearts before their ceremonies. Reminded me of the sanctity and innocence of my vigil site. I was glad it was Colin who came down that am because he "gets it" and it was nice to gently move from my reverie back to the day.

The morning ceremonies. The rightness of the moment. The wives in stunning pride. I have been there and it is a special place. The ceremonies were beautiful and almost vibrated with the well wishes of those these men have touched with their quiet warmth. I get misty thinking of it.

Ceridwen's beauty and pride. Q's quiet surprise. Knowing the rightness of the third of the four Peerages. The ladies' care of the folks at her vigil. I like Mor more :-) every time I am with her. Coffee singles! MMMMMMM!

Watching Les freezing as he MOL'd but enjoying every minute of it. He does so much so quietly for nothing other than the intrinsic enjoyment of a job well done and often, for a happy wife. It is obvious I love him...but perhaps even sweeter is how much I respect him. I wish he knew the respect he deserves.

Walking and talking with Isabel. Her quiet dignity and the ease of this reign. I have so much respect for her and yet, I can be totally down...my guard that is. It is a welcome release.

The hospitality of the fire in Royal...I am still surprised when I feel welcome in Royal. Just like I am when someone tells me they regard me highly. I am too wired to rejection. Still, if it had not been for that time I would not have made it to the evening court. I missed going to the kitchen to help D and see Emma, missed the two afternoon vigils and curia but I actually was able to get warm and have my back relax a bit.

Byram time. Catching a moment to check on his day, seeing him smile and receiving in return that special sense of safety I get from him. A real sense of relaxation that I get with so few people. I was happy to be happy with him.

The girls had a great day. Christie with her young friend Alex and Katie in the kitchen chopping parsley until she knew nothing else. Who knew when they were babies how beautiful they would be now?

Finally putting a face to the name for Tas. It is pretty obvious I cannot speak to a Knight's martial skill but I do know my impressions of the man even before I knew who he was. A fine and gentle man with great care for others. I know nothing about fighting but I get pretty good impressions of a person's heart. His chivalry was apparent long before his Knighting.

Cold cement and weakness in court. I must give up some of my pride. Enough said about that.

Thank you Theo, Gen and Byram for getting me back to the hotel safe. Thank you Christie for caring for me at the hotel.

Sunday am with the Windmasters folks. Few folks express their appreciation as naturally and sweetly as the people of that Barony. I am proud to have a "vacation villa" in their lands. Ernest thoughts and questions about fealty and path. Searching but with skill. Being honored to share people's revelations of their growth.

Lunch with the wild bunch. Sitting with Misha :-) Laughter and family.

Gen and the wowsy news of the weekend...more later on that one.

Home, sweet home and a grateful cat.

Thanks everyone for a wonderful weekend.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland