What is Fealty?
2003-01-17 - 9:29 a.m.

Christie left for her trip today. I was excited for her as this is a great opportunity but yes, I was anxious that she would be okay. Trust and faith that which is beyond my control will still be okay is always hard for me....

I was asked some interesting questions about fealty this week and realized that while I have a pretty good understanding of my oath and its reciprocity from the Crown that there are nuances of others beliefs that I do not understand. If it is confusing for me, imagine the folks who are far from new but do not have a relationship where these questions can be asked?

Many of us in this forum are in direct fealty to the Crown, have served as Crown or hold fealty to and from a student. Please consider writing to me and giving me your operating definition of fealty, how its personification in your life compares and contrasts to medieval fealty and even to what you believe is the SCA standard of fealty.

While this is for my friend, I know I will benefit greatly and may even be able to compile this information for a paper or University class one day. Please let me know if your information is for private consumption or if you would allow me to credit you if I ever get around to formalizing this.

Thank you in advance.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland