"Good People Doing Good Things"
2003-01-14 - 9:43 a.m.

Slowly recovering from 12th Night. I always get a migraine when I am sleep deprived so sure enough last night and this am...hopefully it will dissipate before I have to teach this pm. At least I am not gagging into the trashcan!

On a brighter note. I love SCA people. We are quirky and opinionated and often harried but we are also extremely kind and talented and giving. That is what is great about going to events. If you open your eyes to it, you are being cared for in a thousand ways.

Once on the way to a 12th Night up North, Baroness Johanna von Sudeborn and I had car trouble an hour above Fayetteville. AAA would tow the car but not drive us to NoVA so we got out our trusty Acorn and started calling as we sat on the side of the road. Everyone was ahead of us on the road but Sir Timoch who did not know us but made sure we got to a car rental place and back on the road. One of the kindest, most generous gestures I have ever experienced.

When we got home from this 12th Night Christie tells us she thought she left her necklace at the hotel. (Yes, I asked them to police their room not once but twice, I looked and then Les did). This was no small issue as this was the necklace Christie picked from her Grandmother's jewelry to wear to her funeral. It was a simple silver chain with a silver solid heart bound in a gold rope. It seemed out of place there amid all the gorgeous and exotic choices she had made over time but it appealed to Christie. She said it looked like her heart felt. She asked her Grandpa afterward if she could keep it and he gave it to her. It is truly prized and she brought it only because we make such a big deal about 12th Night that she wanted to wear her most important jewelry.

I called the hotel twice but could not get any information. We sat on the sofa and she leaned against me and cried while I stroked her head and told her I would try to fix it but might not be able to.

So Monday was about calls to the hotel (four more before they verified they had it). At this point I could not trust them to keep it for us but could not face a three hour trip last night to get it.

But we are SCAdians, there is someone in almost every city to help. So I emailed His Highness because Les remembered he lived very close. He took care of it right away and treated the task as if it was the most important thing he had to do. Christie was so relieved that it is now "safe." She says, "No one could get it from the Prince."

Now there is no better way into my heart than to pay a kindness toward my husband or daughters especially when it involves soothing away hurt or tears. But then this is really who we are.

Good people doing good things.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland