More than 12 Memories of 12th Night
2003-01-13 - 9:42 a.m.

When last I left you I was excited to remember I had a serger. Well it helped tremendously....until I decided to change thread color and accidently pulled the lower looper thread out trying to tie on the new color.

Those of you without a serger may be saying..., "So what?" If you have one, you know the rest of the story...yep, I still can't thread it where it works for more than two inches :-(

12th Night:

So serger issues meant I was late on Friday getting out of the house. Both Les and I have been sleeping poorly all week. He handles that (and most anything) better than I so of course I was CRABBY. When he was cross and I called him on it he reminded me, "that's right, only one of us can be bitchy at a time and this week is your turn..." See, he can (and does) keep me in my place :-)

So the trip up was good. I was now behaving (thanks Honey) and the girls were great (even if they were packed into the back seat with too much vigil stuff). Got to the hotel and checked in to find the Barony of Windmasters Hill (no, not quite but close) visiting. Good thing it was them as I really do genuinely love them and it was probably as good for my spirit as it was bad for my body.

Up too early to get to site to set up the vigil (not enough time). I do think it looked wonderful and their friends and household did a phenom job. Still, from then until about noon I felt like I was 5-15min late for everything (to which Their Majesties can attest...I am beholding to Them for Their graciousness and patience).

Spoke at two handwashings...those are really hard for me. I spend too much time worrying about rubbing the stains from my own soul to ever feel "legit" publicly asking someone else to. Add to that being late and I felt rattled.

(FUNNY aside, just before Simone's, Rhiannon had given me a giraffe finger puppet. My hands were full and so she tucked it in my cleavage (a joke between two "abundant" women). As I spoke for Simone I had an extremely uncomfortable tachycardia moment when my mind said..."Oh God, please tell me that the giraffe is not peaking out of my bodice!" I looked down in fear to find I had indeed left it with Kate...WHEW! but it did make me falter in the speach.)

I had some "off time" and went upstairs to relax in a chair. I had Theo's 12th Night gift (a ball cap with my motto on it) and my coronet. I couldn't figure out where to put the two of them while I dozed so jokingly I put on both as someone suggested (you know, wear it inside your coronet like the Knights do). I must say that it was fun seeing folks walk by and do the double take!

The courts were wonderful. His Majesty seems so happy this reign...so at peace and the warmth of that radiates from Him. Sweet. Her Majesty had things timed so well with "work periods" intersperced between courts. Very hard for Her as there must have been no down time but damn, it sure made things look seamless to the crowd. Just one more evidence that she is a Pelican. Graceful on the surface but really peddling hard.

I had some fantastic time with two old dear friends. It made me miss my Byram time but I hope he can forgive me. As I have met more and more people, sometimes people feel I have left them behind. The ones that really know me know that once you touch my heart you are part of me forever.

Byram did take care of me during court...I had knealt for Simone's ceremony. My back is getting better and I hate to stand (blocks others view) and I hate when folks sit in the Royal presence (too familiar and I think sets a poor example of a Peers position and respect for the Crown). Still, I thought if there was one more piece of regalia I would DIE. Had to rely on the kindness of one of the Knights who was playing to help me up. I was numb kneed for a while. I am going to make me a Swedish foam kneeler I swear!

Aenor's ceremony was beautiful. Their Majesties had helped them get it to the best length. I always plan points and flow from one to another but something happened midspeak and stuff started coming out that was not "preapproved" by my head. Francesca was right across from me and my heart just responded. "DANGER, DANGER," my brain cried as my heart just kept on ruling my mouth. Yep, my voice cracked and there was His Majesty with a nice smile for me...

Left for the hotel after some last minute confusion (Les was speaking to a woman about bobbin and I thought he was being a good Laurel. He did not hear me whimpering to go home and was just biding time) Got to the hotel and Christie's "green tunic man" asked our family to join his for dinner. I begged off but knew it was a great chance for them to have some more time. I laid wrapped in the bedspread and watched Trading Spaces!

Up til 03:30 talking. I love when folks who are Peers mix with near Peers and new folks in one room and just learn from each other. My favorite experiences are those.

Lunch with the whole gang then home.

BEST

Aenor's scroll. Beautiful and she adores it. Every detail of it. Thank you Maestra Lucia for its perfection.

Damn fine friends who really do care for me. Nia, Nikulai, Daemon, Emma, Rhiannon, Theodora, Isobel, Byram, Muirgheal, Meadh, Brianna and Alejandro all made sure to give me some time to bolster me up. Mmmm feel the love.

My family...the patience and humor of our daughters and the sheer dedication of my husband. Enough said.

The quiet times stolen between the "On times" when you get to recharge your batteries.

Seeing folks growing into "Peers" before your eyes. Good ones that know themselves and therefore will will be able to handle the life.

Worst

Too much to do, too little time. Being late for Their Majesties...not once but TWICE!

Feeling like I disappointed a few people by not spending time with them. No emails yet to that effect thank God!

No down time Friday night at the hotel.

That feeling when I looked down to check for the giraffe.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland