Help Wanted...the Sheltons go to Europe
2002-12-30 - 3:21 p.m.

Ok so most of you know that I am a bit of a trust/mistrust freak and this is too deeply rooted in my rearing to do anything but realize how that affects my need for planning and details much farther out than the average.

The latest is our planned trip to Europe in June. We are not seasoned travellers. I used to hate to fly and now tolerate it with medication. I have decided to ignore the fact that if this plane goes down, it will take my entire family...(see cheery little paranoid that I am)...because I sooooo want to see Cym and Stephan, share Paris with our daughters and enjoy my husband and father-in-law's history in Suffolk, England.

But there are too many unknowns for my comfort so that I can enjoy these sweet anticipations.

So, I am asking you my frequently travelling friends to email me or write some advice from practical to the smallest detail.

We are going in June, how long depends on expenses. Dates depend on how long so first I need ideas on expense.

We will start out flying in to Frankfurt. I believe Cym and Stephan can handle details of living arrangements there and we will hope to be there at minimum three days before we go to Paris...any ideas as to what to see around Frankfurt?

We plan to cartrip to Paris and stay two nights three days. So this is pretty much our first week. I have been told to get an International Driving Licence but have no idea how to do that. We could rely on a travel agent to book our hotels in Paris but does anyone have any idea what area of the city to stay in that is acceptably nice for fluffy Mom with Young Daughters but will not break our bank?

We hope to visit Notre Dame, the Louvre and to take a river boat trip and spend some time along the left Bank. Any other ideas?

We will then return to Frankfurt area for a few days before flying to London to meet Les's Dad for a tour of Suffolk and London for a few days (this will be largely planned by Dr. Shelton as this is his part of the expense but London ideas are welcome.) Obviously we hope to do some tour of the Tower and other famous landmarks but would like to include some less obvious choices.

I am sure we will end up in at least one pub as Les has long described something I think called Shandy which is some beer and lemonade concoction (sounds vile but I bet he wants the girls to try it as that is what he drank as a young man).

Anyway, with expenses and itinerary still too up in the air I have no idea where to start!

So, does anyone have a per day estimate for food and lodging per person in Paris, Frankfurt and London? Anyone got any ideas on what to see and what to skip as "not worth it once you got there?"

Help! We need to start looking for flights!

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland