A "PC" Winter Wonderland Weekend
2002-12-23 - 10:20 a.m.

So the weekend was beautiful. So good, so restful and rejuvenating that the few rough spots seem barely like a glimmer in retrospect.

Friday two of the managers had a Christmas breakfast for the staff and invited me (as much because they used our "vigil" silver as because I work closely with their staff). Still it was a sweet gesture. They gave everyone little votive candles with their thank you note themed "Keep the light of the season alive." A nice start to the day.

Too successful retestings for ACLS later and it was time for our rather early management team lunch at Key West. Early cause our boss gives us the pm off to shop. Even better, this year the department picked up the tab, even for our "Christmas Cheer." They were playing Christmas muzac (sp?) and I realized there is a version of Winter Wonderland out now that removes Parson Brown and the reference to getting married....no lie now it is something stupid about a clown! Good Grief! Charlie Brown! I thought of bdeb and Christian and wanted to protest this pc corruption...but instead I had a cosmopolitan.

Lovely time and I received a nice Christmas centerpiece as my gift. Perfect synchronicity in that I had realized that I would need to set holiday table this year as we will not be having holiday with the Sheltons (only the second time in eighteen years). I then realized that I had nothing appropriate for a centerpiece...now I do.

Friday pm was spent shopping for Les. This year made much more fun by his "new leaf." He has taken to heart my comments that "not needing anything" at Christmas affects the joy of the three women in his life. So, he is really focusing on our season being bright. Finished up by five and home before traffic!

Saturday we woke to have some good quiet time together over coffee as the girls slept in. Then to the movies for "Two Weeks Notice" which is almost as fun as the old Hepburn/Tracy pairings. To the grocery for everyone's favorite meals where we had a bit of a wrinkle when I almost passed out in produce. No, not the price of asparagus. Apparently, I have a kidney infection again and I was dehydrated. So, detours for care for that and back to our weekend.

Sunday my sister came and we went to see Maid in Manhattan. Les has turned a new leaf but not a new branch so two romantic comedies in a weekend was one too many. He stayed home to putter and off we went. I have an on and off relationship with my sister. She carries many of the scars I do from our rearing and has had so much less support in her recovery. I think sometimes she takes out on me what she cannot resolve with our parents now so our outings are either wonderful and sweet or painful. This was no exception.

Still, I feel for her as I get to go home with my family to a husband who reminds me to just let things go and sweet daughters one of whom will sit and hold your hand til you can let go of hurts she cannot yet understand.

Last night we sat and watched TV with candles flickering and the tree lights glowing. Wow, what a great life.

Today back at work to tie up loose ends before having my first Christmas week off in twenty years! You see in my new role, I can take the time to be with my family but every other year it was up in the air as to whether I would work Christmas or be off. Years of hearing "I'll be home for Christmas" and knowing either I could not or I would be real late.

Yep, when you are thinking good thoughts and sending prayers to all those whose holidays are spent away from home, military comes readily to mind but I would ask you to remember healthcare workers and their patients. You see, lab techs and nurses, EMTs and residents have to share time off at the holidays and have to put aside their homesickness to bring a kind word and warm smile to folks and families who obviously cannot be home for Christmas. A hospital is a cold place for Christmas warmed only by those who keep it going 24/7, 365 days a year.

So, from our house to yours...Merry Christmas friends!

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland