The Softie and Scrooge
2002-12-19 - 7:39 a.m.

My light glimmers, amazing thing the human spirit as it fights being extinguished.

I bought mosaic votives and peppermint scented candles yesterday which brightened up the mantle and brought a touch of Christmas to the bathroom (more on that later). I used to decorate the BR too but thankfully for Les, I have abandoned that!

I have gone back to meditating on the Canonical Hours a bit. Always grounds me and helps me get back to a basic spirit of gratitude.

Oh and last night we made more Christmas cookies (after learning that our oven is apparently hotter than the sun) and watched...you guessed it...White Christmas. I love this movie and so do the girls; Les is tolerant of it but he went to the Canton meeting to be Exchequer so we were free to sing along with sap.

As seasons in your life change I guess different songs appeal. This time it was not "Snow" and it wasn't even "White Christmas" but instead was watching our daughters sing along to "Sisters" just as my sister and I did. And "It Happens While You Dance."

I love the costumes in that one. But the one that always gets me is the homage to the old General, "We'll Follow the Old Man." Reminds me of my daddy and the era and so the girls and I talked a bit about the era and what it meant. I miss that they are learning that from me and not from my Dad.

Still, we have copies of a number of the old standby movies (after the year when we somehow missed all the screening dates). So I think it will be a movie a night til Christmas eve.

And I think I will make sure I get to have lunch with my honey today. He is trying too but it is obviously going to be harder for him...he got the Scrooge gene from somewhere certainly not his 4 million decorations Mom and this year will have additional issues. So, he has a free Scrooge card for the season. His cynical wit is kind of funny once you shrink your anti-scrooge button a bit!

I have decided to relax my expectations and know by experience they are usually too high not to be disappointed. Gonna go with the flow as it were.

THANKS friends and Merry Christmas.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland