Burned out Bulb
2002-12-18 - 9:43 a.m.

I will make the season bright, I will make the season bright, I will make the season bright.

I feel like a string of lights that can't work because you can't find the burned out bulb! Struggling against the flatness of the season and only one week out. Just as the girls and I were on an upswing, it has hit Les that this holiday and those after are forever changed.

As an emotive, I look around for joy in the season I can absorb and give back again but it seems in limited supply. I am going to talk to my boss today about taking next week off...Les has most of it and so we can enjoy our family time without packing for trips, SCA or anything. Time to turtle down for us four.

So, if you have some holiday cheer to spare I could use it...some kind words I would love to hear them. Thank God for Kyneburh and Theodora as they are the bright spots of diaryland right now...thanks from my heart.

To be less than totally pessimistic, the tree is beautiful as Les bought a gazillion new lights and all our ornaments are special. Chad's is centered on the tree...my parent's angels but not yet one for Dwight...too soon.

Last night we got out the cookie press I had bought for Les and the girls. Made cheese straws (a Southern delicacy not known to some of my "off-brand" friends) and sugar spritz cookies with sprinkles. Nice to see everyone laughing.

School exams this week keep the girls from giving in to the holidays. Maybe we will play some this weekend. I remember Christmas break as longer...are we so much dumber because we did not have the long school year?

Christmas lunch on Friday. I drew the only guy manager (female dominated profession don't you know). He is a golf-aholic so I have to go find something good...I hate the pressure I place on myself to find the perfect gift but I cannot help myself. Still with only a few days left it becomes less important!

Enough rambling for now.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland