Weekend in Review
2002-12-16 - 9:25 a.m.

So, I got off later than I wanted and the weather was dreary so it seemed to get darker earlier. I was thinking of someone who needed a bright and joyful weekend and smiled at the irony of the grey twilight sky. Still, joy is where you make it.

Got to Nia's not too late and honestly cannot remember what we did Friday night. We were both weary from the week so I suspect we just talked. All I remember is warmth and companionship...oh yeah, decorating magazines. We talked about getting a decorating plan together as she has the "bug."

Saturday we got up whenever and sat companionably and talked about our lives. The best thing about Nia is you can be open safely. She may chuckle or smile at the irony of a statement but she NEVER laughs at you. I think back to that Silver Chalice where we sat together and got the giggles in court...I am not sure why we sat together...maybe it was a "New Pel" bonding choice but it is where I can look back to for when we realized, "Now this woman is someone I want to know."

Midday we went out to the bead warehouse. I guess I thought it would be more warehouse-y but thankfully it wasn't because I ended up overstimulated anyway. Too many beads...no idea which to go for which project....Oh the stress! So I bought some moss agate, some tiny hematite (sp?) cubes, some dangly charms and 2 watch faces to make watches for the girls in their school colors. Katie's will have chinese symbol charms; Christie's will have music notes. Now to get them done before Christmas! Nia found a brick sponge for faux finishing and decided that is what she wanted in the BR. Terracotta colored brick.

Then we went to lunch and had more lovely conversation before we went to Lowe's and had quite the time at the paint chip display. We ended up talking a cross purpose so I found myself at the paint counter dabbing art paint onto the paint chip "bricks" to describe visually what I could not express earlier. The paint guy was amused.

Home to paint above the rail and begin the faux finish below. Likely we could have done better but pretty darn good for two girls, minimal time and less equipment.

By this time we are terracotta colored too, I am feeling wheezing and a bit sick (I had not painted sense I got Latex sensitivity and dummy me was not thinking Latex paint at home is not very far from Latex gloves at work). Anyway, the estrogenfest at Lucia's is going on upstairs. We peel off painted cloths and hit the hilights of the paint on us and run upstairs.

Turned out to be a lovely laugh filled relaxing evening. Lucia has a lovely home and seems very happy. She is incredibly talented and generous so she has accepted a commission from me for a Peerage scroll. No details here but it is NOT the traditional big rectangular thing. Smaller and (I know, I am partial) more elegant.

At 2:30 we finally make our way downstairs. I slept beautifully on Friday but less so on Saturday (not just because of the hour). Awoke to the smell of paint again as Nia was finishing the brick sponging. I pretty much stayed clear.

We had hoped to get to the Baronial meeting but bricks and all....Had a lovely salad for lunch and got to visit more with Lucia and Giselle (who is very talented and likely under-rated). More laughs as we finally got estrogen-y enough to embarrass ourselves with the recounting...nope, you sure as hell won't read it here!

Realized the hour was late when you live a state away so I hopped in and away I went. I love driving home particularly when I will get home early enough to be with the girls. Leaving home is always something I look forward to but somehow coming home always seems sweeter.

Had a wonderful call from Sue and discussed holidays and 12th Night interkingdom plans. Missed Corwyns call as I could not reach the darn phone but hopefully that was not my one chance until NC gets back in the 21st Century.

Home to a clean house, BEAUTIFULLY decorated huge tree, dinner and my new exercise equipment all prepared by my phenom husband and our rocking daughters. Relaxation and catching up with everyone.

As to Fortunatus...I heard nothing but good things. I am so proud of the Chivalry for doing this and for so many taking the time and trouble to come out. It is hard to live everyone's ideal of Peerage being held accountable for widely divergent perceptions of what our decisions mean or do not mean. To me, this weekend the Chivalry made a couple of public statements..."This is who we are now show me who you are," and "We will put forth the effort to meet you with an open mind on the field and provide you with opportunities for recognition of your skills and advice for your future." Janos said that it was a moment like Henry V...that those who were not there would hold their manhood cheap. Pretty powerful imagery that.

Most of the Chiv live this everyday...most Peers do I think. But somehow the whole group of them together...now that is a powerful statement. Truly something of which to be proud.

All in all, a lovely weekend.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland