An Unevent Anniversary
2002-12-09 - 9:33 a.m.

So, the trip was better than I anticipated but I still felt "flat" and a bit disconnected so I must not quite be "back."

The trip up was actually nice. Les and I had gotten a few new winter things for the girls for our trip to the frozen North so I knew no-one would freeze. They were progressively more appreciative with each stop we made as we drove North particularly when we arrived in Petersburg to snow unmelted on the hotel grounds :-)

Les is such a good traveler that it makes up for me. He is not bothered by traffic, bridges or curves. He will readily stop whenever someone needs to and really does better with keeping things loose but on schedule.

The hotel was wonderful with a huge room, well appointed for only $50. We were so pleased with it we cancelled our Richmond reservation and so did not have to pack up on Sat am.

Got there in time for Les to chair Laurels. Guess it went fine. An hour is hard to conduct business and run a list in but he feels like the meeting met folks needs to their satisfaction.

Pels was really good. Right amount of seriousness and humor. I LOVE having a Crown who is a member of the Order! It is a different tone. We really utilize our egroup so we have time to allow the group to lead the direction without slighting the watchlist. I must say that I love Duchess Mel. She is my kind of woman with an amazing blend of steel and softness, humor and direction.

Got to see D'Emma only briefly but long enough to chat and give her their Christmas cercie. She (and those around) seemed to like it. I love those kind of simple but beautiful gifts. Sat with D'Emma and Her Grace, Jaudin and Constanzia and Gen for a bit. Lots of humor there. Briefly talked about Come as You Aren't. I love that as it reveals a lot about who you are and who you really might like to be.

Youth meeting was okay. Katie came all that way to meet about direction. I warned her there would be few youth and maybe a lot of power hitters. The room was full of folks with a variety of agendas. Some with, my kids needs are not being met. Others with, don't mess with us we aren't broken. Odd chairing of the meeting. Kate thought it would be Corwyn with feedback by her and other teens. Turned out to be Tehair with some feedback from Katie. She was nervous as she is not used to being up front. The pace of the meeting was such that she ended up getting some pointed questions without time to formulate a response. Better toward the end when she got to talk about what she thought might bring in more teens. I am not sure what people thought in the room. I was glad to be sitting with Mel and Kari and James. They were so supportive of her and respectful of her as a young woman. That is all I ask. Interesting dynamic and much more political than is healthy for her.

It is extremely hard for Christie to be left out. Developmentally 13 is closer to seventeen than to 9. Christie is 12 and wants to help with the program so we are actively seeking alternatives for her to bide time until she reaches whatever age the teen program will serve. She met Mistress Rhiannon who she thinks may have hung the moon so she is VERY interested in heraldry; might be a good match of job to her skills.

I am in an interesting place right now...no real personal goals except supporting others: Les, Katie & Christie and Emma primarily. Seems a good place for a "Mom" person like me.

Dinner was an adventure...we found the "Fan" in Richmond but many of the places recommended were crowded with waiting only at the bar. Now I know I am conservative but sitting with my twelve and fifteen yearold daughters at a smokey bar is just not my thing. So we ended up at Strawberry Street cafe and very happily had dinner together.

Crashed at the hotel then got up leisurely to meet Gorm and Rhi for lunch. Boy was the hostess harried to the point of paranoia! Anyway, I now know how to get folks to pick something on the menu :-) Just tell them you will order them liver too! Nice time and good to get our family together with them without event pressures.

Still....if we stay in the SCA I imagine I should just move the celebration of our anniversary...cause it really is impossible to blend the two. I guess I am lucky enough to know we have special days almost every day.

Next year, a B&B for just us two I think.

If I missed seeing you at Unevent, I am truly sorry. Theo and BdeB come to mind. Hope to see you all at 12th Night.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland