Reaping the Harvest
2002-11-25 - 10:21 p.m.

So tonight was Beta Club Induction Ceremony. No one who has known me five minutes is not aware that I am extremely proud of our daughters. So, indulge me.

If you read this morning's post you know we did a bit of shopping this weekend. Tonight we hurried home to get the girls fed and ready. Kate looked particularly beautiful and even better confident. I look at her and I am so amazed that she is now a young woman and she is a truly accomplished one as well.

We arrived at the High School and went to our place in the gym bleachers. We have learned to part rather quickly and have her come to us with folks she wishes to introduce. We keep an eye out for when she looks for us but resist waving, etc. She is a very private person.

She waited out front for friends and when she came in, she took my breath away. She was poised and smiling and carried herself so well. I knew she was excited but without that uncomfortable anxious air I have seen in the past.

They had planned a lovely program around the theme, "Harvest of Hope" including a can drive for the Harvest Hope Food Bank and a guest speaker who owns a large multiple crop farm near here.

Three high school women sang the National Anthem and did one of the best jobs I have heard. The speaker spoke of how one has to study, plan and execute each crop before you can expect to reap a good harvest. He talked to them about perspective and that they were both Harvesters of their own plans and dreams and the Harvest of the plans of their parents and teachers. Now, I know I cry at commercials but it really touched me. We have so few of these opportunities left before Kate is off on her own.

After the pledge, we joined Kate who introduced us to her favorite teachers and friends. Her English teacher told us she is "a phenomenal young woman" who he wishes he had "twenty eight others just like her." Mmmm, glowing parent moment. She generously took her sister under her wing and ushered her around for a bit.

We skipped the crush of the reception though and went out for coffee and dessert. I was so proud of her and Christie.

It was an evening when I could look back to all the parenting choices and moments when I was not sure what to do with satisfaction.

I am proud to say that she is our Harvest.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland