Stepping Back in Time to the Old SCA
2002-11-05 - 8:42 a.m.

I went to a demo this weekend...I usually don't as I dread the pull of the public but this one was for Lady Muirgheal. She is the lovely, petite blonde from Nottinghill who has always been so supportive of my projects (if you do not know her, please allow me to introduce you when next you are down this way). In any case, the Holy Cross Demo was a debt of honor that turned out to be a sweet gift...a day in the old SCA.

It was like the old SCA in mood: little drama, no stress, cooperation and smiles on all the faces. It was better in that we had much better garb ;-) and heraldic display (mostly thanks to Syr Richard who is doing great work there).

We had to be there on Fri night in the COLD (maybe not as cold as Nikulai was at Crown but cold for SC!) for ambiance but the major part for me was on Saturday. We met early and paraded down Main St, USA to the church where the SCA sponsored fighting, equestrian and arts demos. I brought my loom and sat and worked on trim. I seemed to be the preteen magnet and had several come over to see the process. Since it is my first piece and already flawed ;-) I thought it would be nice to let them try; they really liked it.

In any case, it was a nice low key experiene with folks really enjoying each other. So much less pressure than we place on ourselves at Events.

The group was too fatigued to think cohesively about dinner so I ended up having a nice dinner with Meadh, Eldred and Ealdthryth. Great company as usual; I always have a positive experience in their company.

Home before too late and in time to greet the family returning from the ballet, Dracula. I love my husband; I look at him with our daughters and I know they will have a lifetime of happiness and security. Hopefully, that will one day translate into good life choices in their future.

All in all, a fine weekend. Now I gear up for our accreditation survey :-(

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland