Peerage Personified
2002-10-29 - 8:32 p.m.

Yesterday, I wrote briefly of the event Silver Chalice. I have read with interest dragonazure's comments about his vigil and his lady wife Ealdthryth's entry about the joy of watching the event unfold. Through the past three days, memories come sharply back in to focus that make me so proud to be an SCA Peer. No, not in a sense of self importance but because the event was full of moments that brought what it means to be a Peer sharply into focus.

First, there is a general sense of rightness, a calm surity in my spirit that this was a true recognition of a Peer. I realize that is what we in the Order hope for and do not always achieve. Not the nervous selfdoubt or the even more uncomfortable feeling of "well it is about time you people got around to me." I remember remarking to Eldred how good it was for my spirit to sense his calm joy.

You all know I love my husband but his is the humble generosity of the true Peer. He cooked for three days and put up with my angst to make sure the vigil food was perfect. He came at dawn to help me set up and returned to wait and wash the silver that I volunteered fro High Table. His quiet humor and dry wit keep me sane and is therefore of more service than many realize. I am so proud to be his wife.

Rhiannon demonstrated the mentorship of the true Peer in her lovely words of welcome and inclusion as she sat with us and talked of SCA, recognition and what is truly meaningful to her. I love those moments when I see Peers and those I know to be on the journey connect. These are the sweet moments that make being a Peer really matter.

I was so proud of the Order of the Chivalry who handled themselves with grace and dignity as they met across the way. I was heartened by their intensity but obvious brotherhood as they came out for breaks from their meeting. Folks often see them on the field. They often see them providing service. This was a chance to see them take seriously an issue they had identified. The outcome is their business, I credit their effort to do the right thing.

Our Queen. She took the day in hand and kept the train on the track while the King conducted business. Not in any heavy handed way as that is not Her. Instead She gently made Her way through the day. She is Gentle Grace, able to show her humor and her passion, her fragility and her strength.

Jarl Timoch came after business had concluded and I saw the spur in his hand. His great gift is his decision to honor our Order and the Order of the Laurel as equal to his own. The gift of a spur is highly symbolic and I cherish mine. So, I knew that Eldred would have a powerful moment ahead of him.

Then I spent time in conversation with Duchess Simone and Mistress Jenna. I thought of how supportive Simone has been of SCA in SC and how so many have come in to their ascendancy with her support. Mistress Jenna is a powerhouse of hard work and humor. Her life as a military wife means that she has to leave groups and rebuild lives in new areas every few years. To do so with such great passion and humor is an example of how to persevere in service.

I sat with Aenore as she comes to terms with her impending recognition as a Laurel. Hers is a special in between place where she is a Peer in Waiting. To see her fervor and her desire to do right by this accolade is a powerful reminder to do right by my own.

Then in court there was His Majesty. Yes, He has been there before but it is His true belief in this Society that shines through Him. I thought how fortunate the new SCAdians are to have Him as Their first King. What memories to reflect on to keep them focused in the years ahead. I know Him to be devoted and committed. Those are hallmarks of a Peer.

Then there was Bran. To put aside conflict and recognize someone's contributions to someone you love is not always an easy thing. To forgive and then respond in generosity. That is a Peer.

Keigan was tapped to speak for Eldred. He did not know him and instead of speaking "for him" he spoke "to him." In doing so, he preserved both his own integrity and the dignity of both the moment, our Order and his own. True Chivalry.

As I waited for the girls to sing so we could retire for dinner. I was struck by Duke Michael and Sir Keigan. They waited patiently and with dignity to continue their service to the Crown at High Table. I thought how glad I was that these two gentlemen would risk the flames of over a dozen candles to serve the table in the way it should be but is often not done. And, I realized that they were being kind to young women who might one day be the future of this Society.

Yes, it is good to be able to count myself among such Peers.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland