Lucky indeed!
2002-10-08 - 9:31 a.m.

UofA All in all a nice trip. We only came up as far as Sanford on Fri night allowing us to get in bed early. No coffee Saturday but Emma and Nia took care of that when I got on site. So with sleep and caffeine I could start the day.

Somehow (I know, it was by not saying NO) I ended up doing the line at the Laurel vigil. Hmmm, not even a Laurel but I guess at UofA most of them have teaching responsibilities. So, I ended up hot, a bit dehydrated and with tourney "tan" very late in the season. Still, we were so happy to see Mitake done that it was worth it.

On purpose, I did not sign up for classes (but then wished I had...) still it was a full day.

So here is the traditional best and worst:

Best:

Coming on site and immediately feeling together with friends. Loved seeing Ragnarr and Kyneburh straight off. Secrets with Effenwealt and John about Aenor. Later sharing encouragement with her. Sweetly, I am lucky indeed.

Seeing Emma walk across the grass with a beautiful smile and a BIG cup of coffee. She is so caring and sweet. Loved receiving a compliment to her beauty and being able to share the sentiment with her. I am lucky indeed.

Being married to John, who unpacks the cookies he made for me, who defers our going to vigil together so that I can go with Emma, who stands behind me so I can lean on him at court while he discreetly rubs my back, who drives me home so I can nap. I am lucky indeed.

Watching Cuan in court. His happiness and humor this reign. I am proud to be an Atlantian. I am lucky indeed.

Having a working relationship with Corwin that allows me to say, what about teens running their program and having a daughter who I am proud to say could do a good job of trying to get it organized. I am lucky indeed.

Sitting with friends like Byram, Colin, Nia and Em and sharing laughter and encouragement. Nothing like the possibilities of a clear window to bring out the creativity and humor of my tremendous friends. I am lucky indeed.

Dinner at Nia's where the folks loved each other enough to be so amiable despite fatigue, dehydration and hunger. A yummy "feast" prepared by Sir Daemon-just wait til you taste the mushroom tart! Yep, I am lucky indeed.

Brunch and then chat with friends and knowing that I have a circle fully capable to care for and nurture a group as large as a Kingdom or as small as our family. Having a trip this weekend and not having to worry because I do not have to be the "one" to remember everything. I am lucky indeed.

The Worst?

Getting to the hotel Sat night only to sit outside for 25 minutes while locks were tried and then having to split up a family into two rooms.

Still, I am lucky indeed.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland