Collegium Best and Worst
2002-07-22 - 1:42 p.m.

I too shook off my doldrums and woke early Saturday to run up to Greenville for Collegium. I had committed to running a Silent Auction to benefit the Royal Travel Fund and to meet with a few individuals Saturday to provide tangible Peer support so there was absolutely no way short of losing an organ to not go!

My sister was happy to have our daughters come and stay Saturday so off we went with one (or would that be two?) less worry for the weekend.

I was a little anxious that the fundraiser do well but any negativity went out the window when I met Mistress Rhiannon at the door. I did not realize how much I looked forward to seeing her until my face broke into a huge smile at the sight of her. She had minimal responsibilities that day and willingly kept me company and helped me run the auction. Better still, we laughed and laughed and enjoyed ourselves so much that the day raced along.

So, spending the day with Rhiannon has to take top billing for BEST of Collegium.

A close second would have to be the end result of raising $400.00 at an event with about 80 in attendance. I am so proud of our Barony. It was great fun to call the Queen and have her guess how far we exceeded our expectations!

Then of course we had wonderful hosts at Manly and Kal's for the night and great company. Folks were too tired to be very serious and so as the wine flowed we laughed and talked til 4am. Lovely people and I guess they do not find me as intimidating after stories of Oomay.

I met a very nice man, Robin of Wilkes from NC. He is a gentle and hard working servant of this society looking for his niche. He was a willing participant in the auction and brought us up to the $400 mark. I hope we will have the opportunity to serve together some time.

Seeing the newest Dolphins from our Barony working the event. They are both long term SCAdians and so deserving. Still, nice to see them continuing to deserve the accolade. I call it earning your medallion at every event.

Of course, nothing beats coming home to see our girls. Can't even think that the day when they will be in their own homes is drawing ever closer.

The Worst of the event?

Having a sense that there are a few folks who really seem unhappy most of the time when I see them. Gee, maybe they are just unhappy when they see me but I kind of doubt it. They just seem to lack forward direction but certainly do not seem to want mentorship. Sad. I hope they find happiness soon.

Folks who undermine autocrats and seneschals by "quoting" Corpora inaccurately and with their personal spin. It isn't often that I find Seneschals or Autocrats moved to the point of discussing such fine points with an event attendee. I was amazed to learn that a long term SCAdian would not only not know policy accurately but would actually provide the opposite directions. Yes, a reasonable attempt at garb is a requirement not a suggestion. (No, this was not a newbie or a visitor who attended in modern clothes and refused loaner tunics and officer guidance on the subject).

Getting up to come home after going to sleep after 4am. Sitting all day, minimal sleep and a car ride...I could barely walk my leg was so numb.

Best Story from Collegium??????

"I am drunk and naked in the water and you can't see me!" Wonder who that story is about? :-)

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland