Celebrating like a Turtle
2002-07-03 - 11:30 a.m.

I wish that I was anticipating the fourth with patriotic fervor. Seems somehow I should be, particularly this year. However, I must say that I cannot find the emotional energy to be fervent about anything other than my thankfulness for a hospital mandated day off. Just call me Nurse Crispy.

Yep, need a vacation, I know I have Pennsic but I have learned not to count on that week for rejuvenation :-) So I am determined to take two long weekends to get my spirit back instead.

I am going to take off the 5th so I am looking forward to four days without having to come in to work. This means four days that really must be used for coordinating Pennsic wardrobe and getting stuff together for shipping to Pennsic. Still, I can sleep when I want and will get to be with my family more than a few hours in the evening. Both major boons to my spirit.

I know that the best gifts I have to offer are those from my heart: loyalty, tenderness, caring. Still, I have been preoccupied with some issues lately and can now lay that down only to feel the impending sadness of Leslie's Mom's deteriorating health. I find my well running a bit dry and need to spend the time refilling my tank. Not just because I have so little to spare for others...I am to the point that I have not quite enough to buoy myself. I feel a Nia turtle phase coming on.

So, Happy 4th everyone. Now to pull my head in and make sure I work on the inside of my shell.....

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland