The Best and Worst
2002-02-11 - 7:32 a.m.

I can't remember who started it but we often do the best and worst of an event.

As Ymir was more than a full event with over 500 people there I cannot pick one of each so here is a list.

Worst:

Leaving work very late to drive (too fast) only to realize on the way I do not have an Acorn or hotel directions and arriving to realize my cloak is home on the sofa....

Missing the Olympic Opening Ceremony.

Finding out I left my pillows at home too (yep I am a princess, I sleep with about five-seven pillows-made do with three).

People in troll lines who do not realize that yes the waiver rules do apply to them too.

Friends who are hurting.

Bryce asking me about his "hot pecs."

Dinner confusion-not realizing I really can't be in two places at one time.

Having my necklace stolen and then the hotel not responding at all to the theft.

Best:

Coming "home" to Windmasters. I love going there. I am cared for and always feel I am elevated to do my best.

Trolling a gazillion folks in with 99% patient, kind and considerate. Gotta love the SCA!

Knowing I love my friends enough to be there when they are hurting and better yet, them knowing it too.

Hillside relaxation with some of the most talented, funny and caring people in the SCA....and feeling more than "included" instead feeling part of.

Spending gentle time in conversation with someone and realizing it only takes time to touch someone's heart.

Walk about with Her Highness-gentle smiles and laughter. Knowing Her love and concern for our Kingdom and being proud to know Her. Seeing her touch folks with a smile and a caring word-thinking of Niobe.

Sitting in court and freezing myself to death only to have someone insist I wear their cloak. Wishing I could get Bryce to sit on my feet so that I could see if he had hot buns too.

Dinner theater with friends in a somewhat tacky Nepa hut atmosphere. Hot pecs and Come as You Aren't stories.

BED in a hotel after a long event.

Having canvas unpacked by one kind gentle and then help packing it again from another. Again, gotta love the SCA.

Lunch with good friends. Laughter and more "Come as You Aren't." Revealing!

Driving home and realizing the best part is getting to see my husband and kids after three days.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland